Read the final letter here.

A letter in support of the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative fiscal year 2018 funding is circulating in the House of Representatives and the deadline has been extended.  We’re asking Representatives in the Great Lakes region to sign on to urge President Trump to include $300 million in his FY 2018 budget. The deadline is today, Thursday, February 9 – we hope that Coalition members and partners can make calls to Representatives asking that they sign on to this letter. The letter is being circulated by Reps. Sander Levin (D-Mich.), David Joyce (R-Ohio), and Louise Slaughter (D-N.Y.).

There are 47 sign-ons so far: Reps. Betty McCollum (D-Minn.), Rick Nolan (D-Minn.), Tim Walz (D-Minn.), Keith Ellison (D-Minn.), Gwen Moore (D-Wis.), Mark Pocan (D-Wis.), Ron Kind (D-Wis.), Sean Duffy (R-Wis.), Mike Gallagher (R-Wis.), Glenn Grothman (R-Wis.), Jim Sensenbrenner (R-Wis.), Bobby Rush (D-Ill.), Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.), Mike Quigley (D-Ill.), Brad Schneider (D-Ill.), Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.), Jackie Walorski (R-Ind.), Pete Visclosky (D-Ind.), Brenda Lawrence (D-Mich.), Dan Kildee (D-Mich.), Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.), Bill Huizenga (R-Mich.), John Conyers (D-Mich.), John Moolenaar (R-Mich.), Mike Bishop (R-Mich.), Fred Upton (R-Mich.), Dave Trott (R-Mich.), Paul Mitchell (R-Mich.), Jack Bergman (R-Mich.), Bob Gibbs (R-Ohio), Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio), Jim Renacci (R-Ohio), Tim Ryan (D-Ohio), Marcia Fudge (D-Ohio), Bill Johnson (R-Ohio), Mike Kelly (R-Pa.), Glenn Thompson (R-Pa.), Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.), Grace Meng (D-N.Y.), John Katko (R-N.Y.), Elise Stefanik (R-N.Y.), Nydia Velazquez (D-N.Y.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), and Darren Soto (D-Fla.).

Please thank your members if they’ve signed on! The Capitol Switchboard: (202) 224-3121 will direct you to your member.

Offices should contact: Rose Luttenberger with Rep. Levin ( or Chris Cooper with Rep. Joyce ( to sign on.